Fun Stuff!

I just wanted to share because I’m so pleased with this (and clearly so easily pleased in the first place).

Last class, I had the student teacher do the “House” activity as described in Cris Tovani’s book, I Read it but I don’t get it. The students were then to discuss reading with purpose and consider the author’s purpose in their lit circles which are revolving around our Banned (challenged) books unit. Tomorrow we will work in the lab and I will remind them to consider their purpose in writing, just as we discussed last class. (Read like a writer, write like a reader – is that how it goes?)

Tomorrow, in place of SSR for a nice change, I will read The Lorax (Dr. Seuss) aloud to the students after introducing the idea of theme and students will thinkpairshare to brainstorm possible themes for the book. Their homework will be to consider what the theme of their respective books (have chosen from a list of three) might be and be prepared to support and discuss it in lit circles next class.

The best part? The Lorax is also a banned/challenged book. Sometimes it’s the little things that tickle my fancy. 🙂

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by simplyrobert on September 18, 2009 at 3:18 am

    This was my favorite book to talk about during our banned book celebrations when I used to work for Borders. It always opened some people’s eyes up to the silliness book banning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

